Urgent Action Needed! Call the House Judiciary Committe and fight the new anti-refugee bill

Washington, DC | www.adc.org | March 15, 2016 – The House Judiciary Committee needs to hear your voice in support of refugees now. The Committee plans to vote on the “Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act of 2016” on Wednesday, March 16, 2016. This is an anti-refugee bill that would severely restrict resettlement of all refugees in the United States, including Syrians and Iraqis.

Click here to read the anti-refugee bill

The bill would drastically reduce refugee admissions and would create new procedures that would significantly delay resettlement for many refugees whose lives are in danger. Under the bill, those refugees that are eventually accepted for resettlement in the U.S. would be placed under continual surveillance after their arrival in the United States.

The bill would allow state and local governments that “disapprove” of refugees to veto resettlement in their localities and could also effectively prevent many Arab and Muslim refugees from being resettled in the U.S. under the guise of prioritizing religious minorities from countries of particular concern. It would also revoke the refugee status of any refugee who returns to their country of origin to visit loved ones or rebuild their communities.

It is critical that all members of the House Judiciary Committee hear from everyone who supports refugee resettlement NOW before they vote on this bill.

Call Members of Congress:

When you call, tell the receptionist that you want to help WELCOME refugees and that you urge them to REJECT “The Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act.”

Example script: “I support refugee resettlement in the United States and I urge the Representative to REJECT “The Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act” which is set to be considered by the House Judiciary Committee. This bill would decimate refugee resettlement in the United States by drastically reducing refugee admissions and allowing state and local governments to veto refugee resettlement in their localities. This bill runs counter to the humanitarian leadership of the United States which has been a historic leader in refugee resettlement. Please oppose this anti-refugee bill.”

Tweet to Members of Congress:

You can also tweet your Members of Congress: “.@REPRESENTATIVE, Our community welcomes #refugees. OPPOSE the so-called “Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act ” #RefugeesWelcome #AmericaWelcomes!”
Below are the phone numbers and twitter handles for the Members of the House Judiciary Committee:

• Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ-8): (202) 225-4576 @RepTrentFranks

• Rep. Mimi Walters (R-CA-45): (202) 225-5611 @RepMimiWalters

• Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA-49): (202) 225-3906 @DarrellIssa

• Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO-4): (202) 225-4676 @RepKenBuck

• Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL-6): (202) 225-2706 @RepDeSantis

• Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA-9): (202) 225-9893 @RepDougCollins

• Rep. Steve King (R-IA-4): (202) 225-4426 @SteveKingIA

• Rep. Raul Labrador (R-ID-1): (202) 225-6611 @Raul_Labrador

• Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI-8): (202) 225-4872 @RepMikeBishop

• Rep. Dave Trott (R-MI-11): (202) 225-8171 @repdavetrott

• Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA-10): (202) 225-3731 @RepTomMarino

• Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH-1): (202) 225-2216 @RepSteveChabot

• Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH-4): (202) 225-2676 @Jim_Jordan

• Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC-4): (202) 225-6030 @TGowdySC

• Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX-1): (202) 225-3035 @RepLouieGohmert

• Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX-2): (202) 225-6565 @JudgeTedPoe

• Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX-4): (202) 225-6673 @RepRatcliffe

• Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX-21): (202) 225-4236 @LamarSmithTX21

• Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX-27): (202) 225-7742 @Farenthold

• Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT-3): (202) 225-7751 @JasonInTheHouse

• Rep. Randy Forbes (R-VA-4): (202) 225-6365 @Randy_Forbes

• Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA-6): (202) 225-5431 @RepGoodlatte

• Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI-5): (202) 225-5101 @JimPressOffice

• Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA-19): (202) 225-3072 @RepZoeLofgren

• Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA-27): (202) 225-5464 @RepJudyChu

• Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA-37): (202) 225-7084 @RepKarenBass

• Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA-52): (202) 225-0508 @RepScottPeters

• Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL-21): (202) 225-3001 @RepTedDeutch

• Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA-4):(202)225-1605 @RepHankJohnson

• Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL-4): (202) 225-8203 @LuisGutierrez

• Rep. Cedric Richmond (D-LA-2): (202) 225-6636 @RepRichmond

• Rep. John Conyers (D-MI-13): (202)225-5126 @RepJohnConyers

• Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY-8): (202) 225-5936 @RepJeffries

• Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY-10): (202) 225-5635 @RepJerryNadler

• Res.Com. Pedro Pierluisi (D-PR): (202) 225-2615 @PedroPierluisi

• Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI-1): (202) 225-4911 @RepCicilline

• Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN-9): (202) 225-3265 @RepCohen

• Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX-18):(202)225-3816 @JacksonLeeTX18

• Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA-1): (202) 225-6311 @RepDelBen

Scroll to Top