ADC Disappointed by Congress’ Failure to Pass Pocan Amendment

ADC Disappointed by Congress’ Failure to Pass Pocan Amendment

ADC is deeply disappointed that Congress failed to pass the Pocan Amendment with a vote of 23-29. The amendment would have ensured that no funds could be used to enforce the Arab and Muslim ban against family members of U.S. persons. Only one Republican, Congressman Charlie Dent, voted Yes to the amendment.

The Arab and Muslim ban is unconstitutional and violates everything that we stand for as a country. This could have been the first congressional action taken against the Arab and Muslim ban. Unfortunately, it failed, but Congress cannot be silent as our families are being ripped apart and our communities destabilized. Our communities will not forget this vote. Members of Congress that have voted against an amendment to protect our families must be held accountable.

The following Members of Congress voted to protect the ban. We have included their names, D.C. office phone numbers, and Twitter handles.

We want to thank you for fighting with us in support of the Pocan Amendment. Now, we ask that you join us in contacting these members, and expressing why voting to protect the ban was the wrong decision. #NoBanNoWallNoRaids

Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)                   Tom Graves (R-GA)                       Mark Amodei (R-NV)

(202) 225-5034                                   (202) 225-5211                               (202) 225-6155

@USRepRodney                                @RepTomGraves                           @MarkAmodeiNV2

Harold Rogers (R-KY)                      Kevin Yoder (R-KS)                       Chris Stewart (R-UT)

(202) 225-4601                                  (202) 225-2865                               (202) 225-9730

@RepHalRogers                               @RepKevinYoder                           @RepChrisStewart

Robert Aderholt (R-AL)                   Steve Womack (R-AR)                   David Young (R-IA)

(202) 225-4876                                 (202) 225-4301                                (202) 225-5476

@Robert_Aderholt                           @rep_stevewomack                        @RepDavidYoung

Kay Granger (R-TX)                        Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)                   Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

(202) 225-5071                                 (202) 225-4806                                 (202) 225-3452

@RepKayGranger                            @JeffFortenberry                            @RepEvanJenkins

Michael Simpson (R-ID)                 Thomas Rooney (R-FL)                    Steven Palazzo (R-MS)

(202) 225-5531                                (202) 225-5792                                  (202) 225-5772

@CongMikeSimpson                      @TomRooney                                  @CongPalazzo

John Culberson (R-TX)                   Jaime Beutler (R-WA)                      Dan Newhouse (R-WA)

(202) 225-2571                                (202) 225-3536                                 (202) 225-5816

@CongCulberson                            @HerreraBeutler                              @RepNewhouse

John Carter (R-TX)                         David Joyce (R-OH)                        John Moolenaar (R-MI)

(202) 225-3864                               (202) 225-5731                                 (202) 225-3561

@JudgeCarter                                 @RepDaveJoyce                              @RepMoolenaar

Ken Calvert (R-CA)                       David Valadao (R-CA)                     Scott Taylor (R-VA)

(202) 225-1986                               (202) 225-4695                                 (202) 225-4215

@KenCalvert                                  @RepDavidValadao                         @Scotttaylorva

Tom Cole (R-OK)                          Andy Harris (R-MD)                         C. Fleischmann (R-TN)

(202) 225-6165                               (202) 225-5311                                  (202) 225-3271

@TomColeOK04                           @RepAndyHarris                              @RepChuck

  1. Diaz-Balart (R-FL)                   Martha Roby (R-AL)

(202) 225-4211                              (202) 225-2901

@MarioDB                                    @RepMarthaRoby

Scroll to Top